it’s only february? it’s already february??

2018 is moving at breakneck speed, i’m convinced it’s because we as a species have broken reality. i’m barely keeping up with the news, and a good part of my job is staying on top of what’s happening out there.

2018_0120_16044800
my feelings exactly, cat I met at a Jahai village

I mean, let’s see: the usual year-end 2017 reporting and 2018 projection; office move; office portfolio retreat; a week-long international forum; another work trip to Bangkok. At this time of writing I don’t even remember what’s been happening on my personal front, but i’m sure things happened. Oh yeah, more cats. Spacey the stray female cat is a mother, and has now brought her kits to the communal feeding tray outside, so my refills are happening more regularly. I’m really not equipped for this much activity, it’s intolerable. But honestly, they’re all a good kind of busy, although 1) it’d be nice if I can just plop down to my own thoughts; 2) as always, I think about how much more busier my parenting friends are, and I just can’t even; and 3) if I don’t feel like I’m in a constant state of catching up.

IMG_20180212_192003.jpg
spindles are the fidget spinners of their time

oh yeah, i have turkish spindles now! I ordered it from Snyder’s Spindles just after the new year, since if the RM is strengthening against the USD, might as well indulge myself. If we’re going to hell in a handbasket, let me go through it with a rolag in one hand and a spindle in the other. it’s been interesting experience because for an effective centre-pull ball i do need to wind the cop a bit more carefully than my usual habit with a bottom-whorl spindle, but on the other hand, that’s time I don’t need to spend unwinding the cop to ply (I don’t find plying straight from the cop particularly smooth because of how the cop unwinds, how I have to juggle the various spindles, and the condition of my singles and later the plied yarn — i need a smoother feed for plying and it doesn’t help that my lace singles need to be high-twist). I regret I only have two turkish spindles, but that’s the line of thinking that’s going to leave me swimming in spindles if I’m not careful. oh no toy wheel spindles are no longer good enough for me, the scandal. They do spin like a dream though, and are too adorable, and much too perfect for my lace spinning.

other than that, I have been cultivating strong opinions against people who have strong opinions against The Last Jedi. frankly i’m still shocked at myself, especially since I didn’t think much of The Force Awakens. like, i’m still at the ‘FIGHT ME’ stage, and really I just want a nap.

IMG_20180210_210014.jpg
we’re to write down our hopes/wishes for the city. i am spectacularly terrible at keeping track of dates.

Like now. I really should go to sleep. It’s the last day of the World Urban Forum 2018 and there’s a morning panel I would like to check out. Overall, it’s been an interesting and genuinely informative experience. From small things, like discovering United Nations Security personnel (it’s a UN-Habitat event) and also checking out all the various sessions, as much as I can, considering they’re all purposefully scheduled at the same time slots. There’s also a (Khazanah?)-funded outfit called ThinkCity that also did their own WUF9 side exhibit/events in their space in RUANG over yon at Pasar Seni, which has the exact amount of aesthetics that would appeal to this humble blog.

I have actually been uploading pix in preparation of posts I apparently never got around to writing, so at least here’s a gallery of some of them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment